The University of Winnipeg
Welcome to the Department of Environmental Studies and Sciences
Course Calendar 2012 - 2013
Course Calendar DESS 2012 - 2013
Find us on Facebook



Courses to Highly Consider

  1. ENV-4614-001 Critical Environmental Issues: Solid Waste Technology and Management Fall 2017 Mondays and Wednesdays 4:00-5:15 pm.

  2. ENV-4614-050/GBIO-7614-050 Critical Environmental Issues: Ecology and Management of Species at Risk in MB Fall 2017 Tuesdays 6:00-9:00 pm.

  3. ENV-3025/UIC-3025 Issues in Sustainable Cities Fall 2017 Fridays 12:45-3:45 pm.

  4. ENV-3602-001 Environmental Governance Fall 2017 Tuesdays and Thursdays 10:00-11:15 am.

  5. ENV-3606-001 Environment and Business Fall 2017 Tuesdays and Thursdays 1:00-2:15 pm.

  6. ENV-3608-050 Forest Wildlife Management Winter 2018 Tuedays 6:00-9:00 pm.

  7. ENV-3612-001 Environmental Impact of Agriculture Winter 2018

The Prince of Wales Forest Leadership Award

The Canadian Institute of Forestry/Institut forestier du Canada is now accepting applications for The Prince of Wales Forest Leadership Award.

Two Canadian Award-winners will take part in an international forestry work exchange program during the summer of 2018 to the United Kingdom.

Award recipients receive a bursary of £7,500 GBP total (approximately $12,000 CAD - bursary amount subject to change based on currency conversion rates). 

This prestigious Award is now in its fourth year and recognizes students or recent graduates who are actively engaged in forestry or natural resource management and have demonstrated a passion for the environment.

Participating students will gain meaningful interdisciplinary forestry experience in policy, planning and fieldwork.

You may be eligible if you meet the following criteria:

  • Applicants must be 30 or younger
  • A Canadian citizen
  • A current student or recent graduate from a Canadian post-secondary institution in forestry, natural resources management, or related programs*; and
  • A member of the Canadian Institute of Forestry

Download your application form here:

Deadline: Sunday January 21st, 2018.

Please submit your completed application to:
Natasha Machado

*Additional conditions apply. Please visit the website for more information:


Silver Ring

The Canadian Institute of Forestry (CIF), Canada's professional organization of foresters and leading voice for the forest industry, has recognized the University of Winnipeg's Forest Ecology and Forest Policy and Management streams of the Environmental Studies Program. This highly sought recognition will allow University of Winnipeg graduates the prestige associated with a forestry baccalaureate program, giving students a competitive edge and the specialized skills needed to work in the forest industry or associated profession. University of Winnipeg is the only four-year university program in the province that has earned CIF recognition.

The Department of Environmental Studies and Sciences hosted its third "Silver Ring Award Ceremony" for graduates of Forest Ecology and Forest Policy and Management streams on Friday, March 18, 2016.

Fifteen graduates completed their degrees and received their rings from Brad Epp from the Canadian Institute of Forestry and Kristen Malec from the Manitoba Forestry Association. Congratulations to the following graduates:
Jennifer Berger, Brian Brunen, Nicole Dick, Heather Konopski, Kayla Maxwell, Tatiana Moroz, Nia Perron, Kate Peterson, Johanna Robson, Christine Ryckman, Lauren Shinnimin Holly Swart, Sarah Thorarinson, Meagan Warkentin and Zabrina Yaremko.


Back Row (from left):
Brian Brunen, Kristen Malec (Resource Extension Officer, Manitoba Forestry Association), Kayla Maxwell, Brad Epp (Chair, Canadian Institute of Forestry), Nicole Dick, Dr. Richard Westwood (Chair, DESS)
Front Row (from left):
Alisa Ramrattan (Director, Forestry and Peatlands at Government of Manitoba), Zabrina Yaremko, Tatiana Moroz, Heather Konopski, Meagan Warkentin, Holly Swart, Sarah Thorarinson, Dr. Annette Trimbee (President, University of Winnipeg)
Jennifer Berger, Nia Perron, Kate Peterson, Johanna Robson, Christine Ryckman, Lauren Shinnimin